Filter Through Life


The thorn in my side

Over the last year or so I have noticed a disturbing trend in my life.  It seems almost every Tuesday, Wednesday and Sunday I am in a bad mood.  For a good long while I never could put my finger on it.  Why was I in a bad mood?  I have a good job, a decent house and car, a loving and beautiful wife and a dog.  I live the American dream.    

I also have a relationship with Jesus Christ and about a year or so ago I began my stint as the youth pastor at Legacy Fellowship in Cedar Park.  Coincidence?  I think not.  It took a while for me to figure it out.  It wasn’t my wife I was getting perturbed at.  It wasn’t my dog I wanted to strangle.  I wasn’t bent out of shape about work and it certainly wasn’t God pestering me.  You see, Tuesday is usually the day I do my sermon prep, Wednesday is the day I preach in Filter, the youth ministry at Legacy, and Sunday is what we in youth ministry call “Big Church”.    

We have an enemy and he does not want us fulfill God’s calling in our lives.  He does everything he can to deter me from hearing God’s voice and sharing His word with others.  Sometimes he comes around waving old temptations in our faces.  Sometimes he just makes us really irritable.  We may find ourselves dealing with some sin we haven’t dealt with in months or years.  We may jump down someone’s throat for almost nothing.  

The trick to beating this is not just recognizing it.  That is the necessary first step but it certainly is not the solution.  No, the solution is getting with God and letting Him fight the fight with us.  God sees our struggles and is on His toes waiting for us to admit them to Him, admit that we can’t beat them on our own and ask Him to help.    

Paul asked God to remove a thorn from his side three times.  He referred to is as a “messenger of Satan to torment me”.  The Lord replied, “My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness” (2 Corinthians 12:7-9).  What was the thorn in Paul’s side?  There has been a lot of speculation but no one really knows.  What I do know is I have my own thorns and I know that God’s grace is sufficient for me.  I need but ask for it. 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

