Filter Through Life


Taming the Tongue

When words are many, sin is not absent,
but he who holds his tongue is wise.  
Proverbs 10:19  

 

A fool shows his annoyance at once,
but a prudent man overlooks an insult.
 Proverbs 12:16  

 

A man of knowledge uses words with restraint,
and a man of understanding is even-tempered.

Even a fool is thought wise if he keeps silent,
and discerning if he holds his tongue. 
Proverbs 17:27-28  

 

I am convicted by these words today.  God has been dealing with me for the last several weeks about my mouth.  I boast too much.  I gripe too much.  I gossip too much.  I just flat out talk too much.  I have a hard time controlling my tongue and I want to change that starting today. 

 

I want to be a godly man, husband and leader in my community and church.  I have to start with the small things.  I must love God and my wife.  I have to be faithful with my prayer.  I have to read my bible.  I have to go to church and I have to tithe.  But that isn’t enough.  If I do all these things yet cannot control my tongue then I am not godly at all.  James asks us in James 3:12, “can a fig tree bear olives, or a grapevine bear figs?”  Certainly not.  Neither can a man leave his tongue unbridled and expect to have influence. 

 

I know I can’t do it on my own; I’ve tried.  I am glad I don’t have to. 

             

      But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you,

      for my power is made perfect in weakness.” 

                       2 Corinthians 12:9

 

Thank God for grace.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

How are things progressing on this trail of “progressive sanctification” since you posted it? Have you seen character and behavior changes, however slight?

Comment by Mike

I would say regressive would be a better way to put it these days. Unfortunately.

Comment by David

When life gets that way for me, I like to read Paul’s epistles. He is especially vigilant about exhorting his readers to be “diligent”, “on guard”, and careful for their souls. Be well!

Comment by Mike




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

