Filter Through Life


God: the HGH Alternative
February 19, 2008, 8:32 am
Filed under: church, Daily Living, Faith, Family, forgiveness, Friends, God, Life Happens, Prayer, Religion | Tags: ,

My friend Joel is getting married this weekend.  He is a great guy and he is marrying a nice girl.  I pray for the best for them.  I just found out yesterday that the wedding is taking place at my old church and my former pastor is performing the ceremony.  I am not real excited about that.  The relationship I once had with most of the leadership of that church was unfortunately severed and though I have forgiven them and moved on it is still uncomfortable.   

My little brother, Chad, is serving Joel as one of his groom’s men.  I know he accepted the honor gladly but I also know he is definitely not looking forward to it.  The severance that took place involved my brother, my former pastor and a few other people.  I believe Chad has forgiven them (or at least he thinks he has) but I don’t think he has moved on completely.  It is going to be really hard for him to do this.  The thing is, he is going to do it and he is going to do it gladly.  Why?  Because this wedding is not about him, it’s about his friend. 

Why do I even bring this up?  To work out my own junk for one thing, but besides that, I was just thinking about how God puts us in situations that may not be comfortable or easy for us so that we can rely on Him to get us through them.  I know Chad is going to have to be prayed up before he can go into that church and humbly serve his friend without making an issue about his issues.  He is going to have to rely on God to do that; and that’s partially because my family (excluding me of course) is not exactly known for humility.  But when we are weak, He is strong. 

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” – 2 Corinthians 12:9


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment